Thing 89: Getting Creative with QR Codes

 General Impressions

I found this activity fun for several reasons.

What amused and amazed me were the creative examples of how libraries are making use of QR codes.  I was also pleasantly surprised at how easy it is to create the codes. The video from Rocketboom Tech was informative and helpful.

QR Creators and Readers

I tried three creators, Google URL shortener, QR Code Generator and QRpedia.  I liked each of them and suspect that it would depend on the project I had in mind which one I used.

I also scanned the QR code in the Thing 89 article and discovered it takes you to the Wikipedia article on QR codes. That was a bit tricky but I’m pleased to know the Reader I have on my phone will read from the computer screen.  I’d downloaded the QR Code Reader App, Bakodo some time ago and hadn’t used it much.

Q

QRpedia

I used QRpedia to create this QR code. I’ve always been a tad curious about who posted this about my employer and keeps it updated.  I do see a couple of things in the text that need editing however.

 QR Code Generator

I used QR Code Generator to create a code for a blog I maintain for a consortium I belong to that is connected to my job. We do produce a informational pamphlet that is used in the presentations we make to public schools and ESU’s and I think that  I will add this QR code to the document the next time a print run is done. I hope that will prompt students, parents, and the public school staff that we speak to, go to our website and look at the resources curated there, including a copy of the pamphlet. I think that there is potential here for using QR codes to help promote our resources and presentation service to the audience we target. It’s an idea I intend to explore.

goo.gl/

Last but not least, I tried goo.gl. It is SO easy and so is the URL that I won’t have any difficulty remembering it.  My spouse and sister-in-law are active in the local genealogical society and  as more tech savvy people join, it won’t surprise me if someone comes up with ideas on how to use QR codes for promotional purposes.  For some reason, I did find it more difficult to place this QR code here than  the others.

Random Observations

I don’t think QR Codes are a passing fad, but like anything else, there is and will be, a particular audience for them just as the Codes have uses that they are particularly well suited for – and other uses not so much.  The notion of the codes as a (mobile)  marketing tool is one that creators will need to be comfortable with  to be successful using QR codes.

Personally, I think if one is creative – or has a penchant for marketing, that the potential for using QR codes in libraries is great.

Leave a Reply

